The 28th edition of the Benois de la Danse Festival will take place on June 2 and 3 at the Historic stage of the Bolshoi Theatre. The outstanding Russian choreographer Yuri Grigorovich is the Head of the Program. This year nominees and laureates of the previous years will participate in the galas.


Carlos Acosta has become Artistic Director of the Royal Birmingham Ballet

A famous Cuban dancer who for many years was a brightest star of the Royal Ballet London, Benois laureate Carlos Acosta has become Artistic Director of the Royal Birmingham Ballet. He started working on his new position in January 2020. Heartfelt congratulations!




SVETLANA ZAKHAROVA – Co- President, international star, prima-ballerina of the Bolshoi Theatre of Russia and La-Scala Theatre

JACOPO GODANI – Choreographer, artistic director of Dresden Frankfurt Dance Company

JOAQUIN DE LUZ – Artistic director of the Spanish National Dance Company

ELISABETH PLATEL –Director of Paris Opera Ballet School

EDWARD WATSON – Star of the Royal Ballet London

ASHLEY WHEATER – Artistic director of Joffrey Ballet

LILI XIN – Artistic director of Shanghai Ballet


Alexander Ekman is preparing the premiere

Alexander Ekman, Swedish choreographer and Benois nominee is preparing the premiere of ballet LIB with the State Ballet Berlin on December 8. The Benois laureates Polina Semionova, Elisa Carrillo Cabrera and Benois nominee Ksenia Ovsianik are in the cast.


Elisa Carrillo Cabrera received the Petipa Heritage Foundation Award

Elisa Carrillo Cabrera, prima ballerina of the State Ballet of Berlin, laureate of Benois and Mikhail Kaniskin, premier of the State Ballet of Berlin received the Petipa Heritage Foundation Award at the Slovak National Theater. Congratulations!


Svetlana Zakharova in the program “Artificial Selection”

Svetlana Zakharova, prima ballerina of the Bolshoi Theater and Milan's La Scala Theater, co-chairman of the Benois 2019 jury and twice Benois laureate in the program “Artificial Selection” by Grigory Zaslavsky.

Svetlana talks about working on the project MODANSE (Premiere Evening of Svetlana Zakharova), which will be held at the Bolshoi Theater on 26 and 27 November.

Spectators will see two one-act ballets: the premiere of the new edition of “AS BREATH” directed by Mauro Bigonzetti (diplomat BenoiS) and the world premiere of the ballet “GABRIELLE CHANEL” choreographed by Yuri Posokhov ( twice Benois laureate) to the music of the laureate BenoiS Ilya Demutsky.

About the MODANSE project and not only in an interview with Svetlana Zakharova


Svetlana Zakharova was awarded the Order of Merit before the Fatherland 4th degree

World ballet star Svetlana Zakharova (jury member and twice laureate of Benois de la Danse) was awarded the Order of Merit before the Fatherland 4th degree. Congratulations!

“For me, such a high award is a great honor and joy! Ballet is not just a beautiful art, it is first of all a lot of work and work. Not only the work of an artist, but also the work of a teacher! I thank all my teachers who taught me and with whom I work now! Wherever I perform, on the most famous stages of the world, I always proudly represent my Country, my Russia! Thanks to my beloved family, for being always with me, supporting me and helping! I heartily congratulate you all the great, amazing people, heroes who today would also awarded the highest awards! ” Svetlana Zakharova


Alexei Ratmansky will present a new version of ballet Giselle

Alexei Ratmansky (Benois laureate) will present a new version of ballet Giselle at the Bolshoi theatre on November 21-24. The choreographer turned to the original source — the 1860 notes of Henri Justaman and the later version of Marius Petipa. Set and costume designer – Robert Perdziola (Benois nominee).

Olga Smirnova (Benois laureate) and Artemiy Belyakov, Ekaterina Krysanova (laureate if the Russian-Italian Prize Benois-Massine) and Artem Ovcharenko are dancing in the premiere performances…


World première

The full evening ballet Body and Soul to the music of Owen Belton.received it’s World première on October 25 at Palais Garnier. It is a new work for the Paris Opera Ballet by a Canadien choreographer Benois laureate Crystal Pite.

Ms. Pite announced before the premiere that she’s going to take a year long break from her job to think about some new projects.


The premiere of Dracula. The Beginning

The premiere of Dracula. The Beginning, show directed by Alexey Golubev, will be presented on November 3 at the State Kremlin Palace. Choreographer and lead actor is Ivan Vassiliev, premiere of Mikhailovsky Ballet and Benois laureate.

Dracula. The Beginning is a mixture of different genres — classical ballet and musical, theatre and cinema.

Copyright © 2002—2020 Benois Centre